1 Comment

SMOKE?

Fire! Naw.  Do you fight wildfires!? Nope.

My blog title has a story. In a way, it’s commerative of Joseph William “Joe” Frazier (January 12, 1944 – November 7, 2011), also known as Smokin’ Joe, Because I am the champion follower of fighters in Mixed Martial Arts (MMA) it only seems fitting for me to re-activate my college mate given nickname and association with Smokin’ Joe Frazier. My ‘performer name,’ if you will.

I wouldn’t be surprised if you are not making the correlation between “Runninaftersmoke” and ‘Smokin’ Joe. Don’t feel lost, I didn’t see it at first either, but it’s simple after hearing more… Over the past three years, I’ve evolved into an endurance runner, thus the first part of the new blog title, “Runnin..”  Happening within this same time, Joe Frazier was diagnosed with liver cancer in late September 2011 and he died November 7, 2011.

At his passing there was opportunity on Facebook for his fans to post their condolences on Smokin’ Joe’s page. I was fascinated in reading the more endearing comments from his very close friends who had spent a lot of time with Joe.  At the close of one in particular, it was signed,  “rest in peace, Smoke.”

I have always felt a degree of respect for Joe Fraizer and would never want titles or subsequent nicknames to mar or shadow his reputation in any way. So, I’ve included “aftersmoke” to express my regard to his unsurpassed legend. I will always be runninaftersmoke.

If you’re also enthusiastic in long distance running or captivated by the excitement in the world of MMA, you will find what I’ll be sharing ‘spot on’ with contemporary events and issues in the arena of these sports and events.  You are welcome to follow-on!

Awarded by the Daily News

I'll always be following the legendary 'Smokin' Joe Frazier

One comment on “SMOKE?

  1. Awesome! Can’t wait to read more!

Leave a Reply

