Leave a comment

Nutrition: from A ‘SUPER-FAT’ GUY

It wasn’t until later in my life that I even considered becoming a ‘super-fat’ guy; but once I tasted the Barlean’s Lemon Zest Omega Swirl, I was sold.  After tasting my first spoonful, I knew that the essential fatty acids (EFAs) of this fish oil product were definitely the ‘good fats’ I should make a part of my diet.  The micronutrients of the Omega-3 fats are superior to other fats that can cause inflammation in our bodies, which is why these fats are so very important to me.  Yes I do like my protein, my carbohydrates and vitamins but when it comes to the fats in the Omega Swirl, don’t mess with them!  Hands-off!  I’m kind of touchy when it comes to my Barlean’s Omega Swirls.

I started reading more and more from what others thought of the Barlean’s proprietary blended Omega Swirls after learning more about the fish oil benefits of the Omega-3.   One of my FaceBook (FB) pastimes has been to read some of the nutrition blogs that are posted on the Barlean’s FB page.  One post written by Ivy Larson struck home with me in my newly stirred interest in EFAs, their importance to me and my nutrition.  Ivy entitled her article: “Barlean’s Omega Swirl: The Omega-3 Solution for the Whole Family.”  She writes: “These “super fats” are vitally important for the health of your immune system, reproductive system, central nervous system and cardiovascular system.  Omega-3’s improve energy, decrease inflammation, boost endurance, improve mood, and support a healthy blood sugar response and more.”  Ivy, talks about more benefits of Omega-3s in the article, and you can read the entire article by clicking the colored link above.

My take-away from this article is the fact that Omega-3s found in fish oils are essential nutrients that our body needs but is not self manufactured in our body’s biological systems.  EFAs require us to ingest them from the foods in our diets.  For me, I realized that I needed to go ahead and stop neglecting my diet.  I needed to become that type of guy who was making sure I had the good fats in my diet – I need to become a ‘fats’ guy.

I made some much needed adjustments to my mental outlook on my nutrition and diet, and I made Barlean’s Lemon Zest Fish Oil Omega Swirl one of my refrigerator’s top shelf items.  That’s right.  Milk, move out of the way.  Make room.  ‘Scooch’ over! Clear a spot for these ‘super fats!

It’s my understanding that Barlean’s Organic Oils uses an emulsifying manufacturing process to break down the fish oil into micro-droplet size.  At this state the fish oil is water soluble and can be blended with water, which enables the small intestine to absorb the oil easily and without the body having to do the work of digestion using bile salts.  The proprietary blend does include citric acid, xanthan gum, quar gum and other ingredients which sustain the smoothie-yogurt texture.  The lemon flavor gives it a Lemon meringue pie dessert taste!   Often times my wife will hear me cry, “Oops!” in the kitchen when overdoing it on the Omega Swirl in my carb protein smoothie.  If you’re like me, you just don’t like going skimpy with the good stuff.

Hey, if I haven’t convinced you to be a ‘super-fat’ person like myself, maybe I can talk you into buying a bottle of Barlean’s Omega Swirl and trying it for yourself.  (By clicking Barlean’s Omega Swirl you can use the Barlean’s Swirl ordering page and choose the BUY NOW option.)  Want to try it first?  Click the Barlean’s Free Sample located on the sidebar of this Blog and enter your information and use the “drop down list” Code:  JF121

Here’s a smoothie recipe for you to consider:

Blackberry Smoothie, serves 2

Ingredients:

1 cup Blue Diamond almond milk

7 ice cubes

1 banana

½ cup fresh or frozen blueberries

1 scoop (930 g) Jay Robb Vanilla Whey Protein

5 Tbs Blackberry Omega Swirl (also available in other flavors)

Directions:

Combine all ingredients in blender and blend until smooth.  Serve immediately.

Created by:  Barlean’s Organic Oils


Leave a Reply

